view of part of 'La Grande Vitesse' sculpture by Alexander Calder

Grand Rapids Housing Commission Governing and Advisory Boards

Housing Commission Governing Board

The Grand Rapids Housing Commission is governed by a five-member board appointed by the Grand Rapids City Manager and approved by the City Commission. These talented and dedicated community volunteers oversee our efforts and help ensure the continuing success of our affordable housing programs.

Housing Commission Members
  • Bobbie Butler, President
  • Betty Zylstra, Vice President
  • Angela Bunn, Commissioner
  • Patrick Miles, Sr., Commissioner
  • Monica Steimle, Commissioner
  • GRHC Executive Director: Carlos A. Sanchez

Grand Rapids Housing Commission meetings are held monthly at 6:00 p.m. at our administrative office located at 1420 Fuller Ave. SE in Grand Rapids. All meetings are open to the public.

2018 Housing Commission Meetings
January 16 May 15 September 18
February 20 June 19 October 16
March 20 No July Meeting November 20
April 17 August 21 December 18

Click the links below to view summaries of recent Housing Commission meetings.

Recent Meeting Minutes
12/19/17 1/16/18 2/21/17 3/21/17
4/18/17 5/23/17 6/27/17 8/15/17
9/19/17 10/17/17 11/21/17 12/19/17

To learn about our current organizational goals and objectives, click GRHC Agency Plan.










Resident Advisory Board

  • Angela Bunn, Chairperson
  • Teresa Boileau
  • Peter Ferwerda
  • Barbara Jones
  • Jo Ann Morris
  • Tiana Ortiz
  • Leonard Webster
  • Virgie Young

Adams Park Housing Corporation

  • Ellen James, President
  • Jerry Herrema
  • Daniel Oglesby
  • Victor Vazquez
  • Betty Zylstra

Creston Plaza General Partnership

  • Jerry Herrema, President
  • Melvin Fox
  • Daniel Oglesby
  • Ellen James
  • Betty Zylstra

Grand Rapids Scattered Site Housing Corporation

  • Ellen James, President
  • Jerry Herrema
  • Betty Zylstra

Hope Community Housing Corporation

  • Douglas Dozeman, President
  • Jamie Ladd
  • Soila Wareck

Leonard Terrace Housing Corporation

  • Patrick Miles Sr., President
  • Earl Holton
  • David Hoogerhyde
  • Shelley Wisdom

Mount Mercy Housing Corporation/
Mount Mercy Phase I Housing Corporation

  • Jerry Herrema, President
  • Melvin Fox
  • Ellen James
  • Betty Zylstra

Ransom Avenue Development Corporation

  • Charles Carter, President
  • Maureen Slade
  • Monica Steimle